Fun things to try -Pottery

To test my creativity I found opportunity at the Uxbridge Arts Centre to learn making clay pottery.

I had a horrible start unable to  even make a ball with my hands- let alone make intricate china dolls or delicately flower painted plates which i had  imagined I’d produce. I peered around at others who seemed expert ball makers and decided I’d never return. But perseverance did it and I  waited with baited breath every weekend for pottery Tuesdays.

The thing about pottery is that It’s super liberating.You can use anything  – garlic crusher, a toothpick, your face – the options are unlimited to make whatever the hell you want .  Added to that the tutor had a few interesting techniques to teach us too, including how to use the most exciting thing in the world.

This.

maxresdefault

That’s not me. I googled the image. That stuff is not easy and after much churning madness and being covered arm up in dirt I produced a shallow resemblance of a tumbler which I am using as a candle holder now.

20140702_213846

Moving on,once your work is dried up, you get to do something even more fun.Paint! oooooooh! You need special paint for this though.Then to make it all shiny you are supposed to put this white stuff on it and let it stay in the kiln  ( property of the tutor) for about 24 hours.

I walked out with these:

20140428_155857

20140428_155952

20140428_15584620140428_155929

I wouldn’t exactly call these “beautiful”but  think there’s sure is a hell lot of me in it.

