Eye – Opening Reads/Watches 2016

file_603686_duke-of-burgundy-movie-review-feat

 

1.Movie – Dukes of Burgundy   – Got me thinking for weeks on weird sexual fetishes – certainly does require a very open mind and putting judgement aside to understand the trust and respect in the relationship of the two ladies.’Human toilet” might require some extra deep understanding though.

shockblast-hugo_jaeger-4

2.Documentary  – World War 2 (in color on Netflix)  –  If you are a typical chic like me ( who didn’t grow up playing with guns and toy armies/tanks) you probably avoid war stories like the plague. I can totally not relate but after being  audience,for as what seems like a long time,to someone housing an astonishing amount of politics and history knowledge even I got a little intrigued and dived into this! Not bad at all – the visuals on maps, documentaries from libraries and the easy story telling kept me going.Great watch on the most harrowing deed in the world!

key-sam-adrian-peter-at-spybase-ploughshares-banner-0-2000-0-1125-crop

3. Documentary – The 5th Eye NZIFF – I was hooked! Interesting documentary covering all the haps around the GCSB act  involving our cyber privacy   in NZ-  all painted in very kiwi colors. This  opened up a huge can of intensely interesting topics for me to explore such as “Big Data”, ‘Smart Auckland” , “Internet of things”,” Industry 4.0″  and such.

51bolkubhwl-_sx322_bo1204203200_

4.Book – A Short History of the World by Geoffrey Blainey- I am not one for history but I felt like I was missing the whole picture at times, which my yellow brain needs so much! The world’s pretty old and come a long way and kudos to the writer for covering it in 472 pages only and  for putting it in layman’s terms. Quite absorbing at times and a great education!

newcover

5.Modern Romance – Azi’s take on dating & romance ( well more on dating less on romance because times can’t get any less romantic than these days!)Can there be no limit to hallway time? Must we all head into such mediocre doors in the end? Hilarious and very relatable if you’ve swiped faces on your phone, or about to ;-).

